Department of Theory and History of Sociology

Headed by:
Doctor of Sociology, Professor
Rafael Badretdinovich Shaikhislamov
The Department was established on the basis of the Department of Sociology in June 2000; it trains highly skilled specialists in the major of Economic Sociology, Bachelors and Masters in the major of Sociology on state budget and commercial bases. The Departmental staff teach Theory of Sociology at all non-specialised BashSU faculties, which helps specialists develop sociological culture, acquire skills of public life analysis and work out corresponding strategies and technologies.
The professional potential of the Department is formed from Doctors of Science (Professor R.B. Shaikhislamov, Professor R.I. Irnazarov), 6 Candidates of Science (Associate Professors Kh.B. Asylguzhin, R.Z. Saliyev, Ye.Dzh. Sennikova, R.T. Farkhtdinov, A.R. Sharipov) and assistant lecturer Ye.V. Zubayerova. From the moment of establishment to March 2006 the Department was headed by Doctor of Sociology, Professor, Honoured Scientist of the Republic of Bashkortostan R.I. Irnazarov, in March 2006 he was succeeded by Kh.B. Aslyguzhin, and since 2009 the Head of the Department has been R.B. Shaikhislamov.
The professional and teaching staff of the Department take active part in researching social problems in the Republic of Bashkortostan and in organizing and holding of scientific conferences on research results at Russian and regional levels. Thus, in May and November of 2007 the Department held all-Russian theoretical and practical conferences “Russia and Bashkortostan: Historical and Social Interaction” and “Russia and Bashkortostan: Socioeconomic, Historical, Humanist, Political, Legal and Philosophical Spheres of Interaction” dedicated to the 450th anniversary of Bashkortostan’s voluntary entry to Russia.
The Department organizes theoretical and methodological seminars for teachers, postgraduates and degree-seekers. The Department maintains cooperation with scientific and educational centres of a number of universities, including universities of Moscow and some other Russian cities, and with institutes of academies of sciences of the Republic of Bashkortostan and the Russian Federation.