The Chair of Mechanics of Continua

О кафедре | Сотрудники | Студентам | Аспирантам

Head of the Chair - Professor A.M. Akhtyamov, Doctor of Physics and Mathematics
The Chair of Mechanics of Continua was established in 1991 at the initiative of Prof. Y.T. Sultanaev and with the help of the prominent scientist, Corresponding Member of the Academy of Sciences, Full Member of the Artillery Academy, Professor of Moscow State University A.N. Ilyushin.
Prof. I.S. Akhatov was the first Head of the Chair – a member of the National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, American Acoustic Society and of the International Scientific Committee on Multiphase Flows. Since 2003 he has also been a Professor of North Dakota State University. Yet, Prof. I.S. Akhatov does not lose touch with the Chair and is currently supervising some of the projects here.
Prof. M.A. Ilgamov, Academician of RB, Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, a State Prize winner (for his work on the theory of nonlinear dynamic interaction of construction elements with working media, 2003) was Head of the Chair in 2002-2009. His works are widely known both in Russia and abroad. Prof. M.A. Ilgamov is a member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (1982), of the Academy of Nonlinear Sciences (1993), of the International Oriental Oil Academy (1993), New York Academy (1996), the author of some 170 works including 9 monographs, the founder of a scientific school in hydro- and aeroelasticity. More than 45 Candidate theses have been written under his supervision, his apprentices (14 of whom are Doctors of Science) are working at universities and institutes in Ufa, Moscow, Kazan, Yoshkar-Ola, Feodosia, Saratov, Auckland, Amman. Presently he is a Professor of the Chair and a scientific adviser.
Prof. A.M. Akhtyamov has been Head of the Chair since 2009. He is a member of the American Mathematical Society and International Society of Inverse Problems in Science and Engineering. His books (Mathematics for Sociologists and Economists, Theory of Identifying Boundary Conditions and its Applications) were awarded special prizes in different all-Russian contests.
Since 1994 more than 10 Candidate and 3 Doctoral theses have been defended at the Chair. The Chair is actively cooperating with Ufa Mechanical Institute, on the basis of which special courses and seminars are developed. The courses offered include Theoretical Mechanics, Higher Algebra, Mathematical Methods in Mechanics etc.